Photographing my story, one click at a time.

I Love Mackinac, but I don’t know why.

I love Mackinac Island. When I’m asked why I love it so much, I find it difficult to explain. It’s a different life there. It’s a different world. Is it only because cars are removed from the equation? There’s nothing better than hearing Taps being played every night at 10:00 and falling asleep to the sound of horses hooves going down the street. Make no mistake, although cars aren’t allowed, Mackinac Island isn’t like stepping into the Amish countryside. It’s a progressive, modern town and even has Wi-Fi! What more do you need? The minute we board the ferry at Shepler’s, life changes. Don’t ask me how. I can’t explain it. Just go there; hike, bike, relax.

I appreciate you stopping by to look at my photos. Enjoy.

Ryba’s Fudge Shop

Some of the Streets of Mackinac Island
Steets of Mackinac Island

Fourth of July

USCGC Mackinaw (This was taken in Mackinaw City)

Merganser swimming near Arch Rock

8 responses

  1. Now I just have to go.

    June 1, 2012 at 11:11 am

    • Thank you for stopping by my blog. Mackinac Island is an incredible place. So much to do there and the scenery is beautiful.

      June 1, 2012 at 4:06 pm

  2. I LOVE Mackinac! I’ve been there 2 times now. Funny since I live in MI, but I don’t go there that often. One of these days I want to go and explore the little island to its fullest. Mostly when I’ve been there, I’ve been taking the 8-mile trip around the island and looking at all the beautiful sites it has to offer.

    June 7, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    • There is so much to explore on the Island. You could hike or bike for hours and not see the same thing twice. The ride around the island is great too, with so many historic places to see while you ride.
      Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

      June 8, 2012 at 3:50 pm

  3. Maya Panika

    Where is it? It’s beautiful.

    June 18, 2012 at 7:13 am

    • It is a beautiful place. It’s located in northern Michigan.

      June 18, 2012 at 7:26 am

      • Maya Panika

        Then I doubt I’ll ever get there. I’ll have to visit vicariously through your posts. It sounds a little like the island of Sark, a place with a truly magical quality.

        June 18, 2012 at 7:30 am

  4. I love it too, and I don’t know why either. Every time I arrive there, I feel like I am home. I often wonder if living there would diminish the charm of it – is it’s elusiveness part of why we lover it?

    August 30, 2012 at 9:49 am

Leave a Reply

